• 嘉道理青年发展中心

关于贺理士嘉道理爵士青年发展中心

贺理士嘉道理爵士餐旅业良师益友项目 (SHKHMP) 于2015年由米高·嘉道理 (Michael Kadoorie) 爵士及嘉道理夫人赞助推出。鉴于中国农村地区的许多年轻人面临着贫困、弱势和社会孤立等问题,上海嘉道理慈善基金会名誉主席Paul Tchen表示,该中心的目标很简单:“赋予弱势青年自信心与技能,以便进入劳动力市场。为他们的职业生涯打下基础,从而能够在未来自强不息并消除个人贫困。” 嘉道理家族以此回馈曾经作为其定居城市的上海。

年轻学员们在该中心进行为期18个月的全方位转型住校项目,内容涵盖餐旅业职业培训、师徒辅导、英语语言、交流和生活技能,紧接着在一家一流的酒店或餐厅工作六个月。这将为他们提供一个崭新的开始。 

在最初的四年里,用于开展该项目的空间一直缺乏进行职业培训所必需的商业厨房。学员团体不得不每天奔波数小时前往一处偏远场地。最初的教学地点也没有餐饮设施,只能通过外包第三方“员工食堂”来提供伙食。 

嘉道理青年发展中心中,两位年轻男士在桌子前开展协作

通过基金会与专家合作伙伴Steelcase和PolyVision(这两家企业捐赠了行业领先的产品)以及上海知名设计公司iDA Workplace(该公司捐赠了公益服务)之间的合作,项目主办地点于2019年迁往一个经过扩展的培训与生活设施,采用定制设计来全面激发学习热情并培养社交技能。

设计主旨是什么?

“我们希望设计一个和谐的学习与生活场所,其中包含灵活的多用途空间,可以进一步划分或组合在一起,提供私人庇护所,以及可以让年轻人相互交流的地方。”

Simon Wu
iDA首席建筑师

项目执行总监兼负责人Shelley Peng表示,年轻学员们在适应项目中的生活方面面临了诸多挑战,包括学习与来自中国不同地区的其他学员共享生活和工作空间,适应新的规则和纪律,培养良好的学习习惯,以及在远离家人的情况下掌握新的生活技能,而通过该中心的设计来促进这些转变十分重要。

嘉道理青年发展中心中,年轻男士在白板上写字

“随性休闲的环境还能令人感觉更友善,不会咄咄逼人,从而减轻传统学习设施的‘正规性’,让我们的员工能够更好地与年轻人交往。”

Paul Tchen
上海嘉道理慈善基金会名誉主席

这一愿景是如何实现的?

新中心分为两层,整个一楼容纳了一个专门建造的烹饪职业培训中心,包括一个全新的主厨房和可供144名住校学员用餐的餐厅,以及易于配置的教室。

“该中心的整体设计提供了巨大的灵活性,通过分隔墙和全移动式设备实现多种用途。因此,除厨房以外,该中心的所有空间都可以适应任何所需用途。”Tchen说道。

Steelcase提供的各种家具,包括先进的教室家具和多样化的休闲休息室与咖啡厅装修组合,均具备了高度的流动性,为导师和学员提供灵活的空间使用、调整方式以及控制能力,无论是容纳学习小组、大型项目团队,还是一对一的聊天。 

分组与协作空间分布在整个设施中,以鼓励自发即兴的交流;明快生动的配色方案,结合充足的自然光线,营造出温馨而引人入胜的氛围。

女导师在白板上画画,并与年轻人讨论

教室和共享空间均配备了PolyVision CeramicSteel磁性白板。这些全高和“拼贴”书写面板可用于在课堂内或中心各处展示文档或书写笔记,以鼓励学员自我掌控学习进程。

PolyVision销售经理Matthew Clarke表示:“白板可让人们记录想法、传授知识和创建可视化的并列对比。这有助于人们更快、更有效地达成共识。”

二楼用作学员、员工和导师的生活空间。该楼层包括宿舍,一个包含健身房和用于日常锻炼课程的工作室的健康中心,以及公用的社交空间。连接上下两层的开放式楼梯被改建成一个充满趣味的社交休息室,并配备了一台投影仪,将该空间用作一个影视剧场。

对于宿舍,Wu借鉴胶囊酒店的理念,开创了可为每位学员提供半隐私空间的设计。“卧室”提供足够的站立高度和充裕的衣服和鞋类存放空间,以鼓励保持物品整齐有序。

年轻人从梯子爬上青年中心宿舍的双层床

一小群学生坐在小桌旁的移动椅子上

Wu表示:“我们希望通过创造‘胶囊宿舍’,让学员感受对他们的尊重。这种宿舍提供了他们可能从未有过的个人空间与归属感。”

学员体验

该项目在原有的中心所招收的两批学员均大获成功。毕业生中有像Nick Shang一样,实现了孩提时成为大厨的梦想,如今在上海君悦大酒店 (Grand Hyatt) 工作,也有像Karry Chen一样,由于嘉道理项目而获得了更强的自信心以及用英语交谈的能力。  Karry非常享受这段学习时光,并因此希望在积累经验和知识之后,作为导师重返该项目。

但两人都表示,在适应上海的学习生活的过程中,他们都必须克服各种挑战,包括与家乡不一样的饮食、气候、城市生活环境,以及截然不同的生活节奏。 

Paul Tchen称,第一批在新中心学习的学员已经发现他们更容易适应环境,并能更快地打成一片。

“这个新中心的怡人环境有助于让我们的年轻学员感觉轻松自在。这种可圈可点的生活与学习环境降低了他们辍学的机率,确保他们能够专心学习并享受年轻人应有的生活方式。”他如是说道。“对导师来说,这个新中心则使得他们能够全心专注于为学员提供更加个性化的学习体验。”

学生在阶梯式座位上阅读和合作

一群穿着西装的男士在会议桌旁一边笑一边合作

“我们携手合作,将21世纪主动式学习的理念融入到空间的设计和建筑当中。这可让学员在没有任何阻碍或屏障的情况下充分运用他们的技能。”

Ambroise D’Hauteville
Steelcase亚太教育总监

携手共创传承 

Steelcase亚太教育总监Ambroise D'Hauteville表示,该项目为我们提供了一个意义深远的机会,不仅可与SHKHMP建立长期合作关系以支持这一鼓舞人心的事业,而且还可以与iDA Workplace等同样致力于创造影响力的合作伙伴协作,共享Steelcase在教育领域的传承。

Tchen认为,这项工作的潜在意义远远超过了简单地创造一个富有吸引力的学习环境。

“我们的愿景是帮助年轻人改变生活轨迹,步入正途,其方式是让他们摆脱贫困,学会自强不息,能够把控自己的生活,向他们灌输始终如一地关心他们所在社区的正面价值观,并为他们提供拥有幸福和有尊严的生活的机会。”

About the Sir Horace Kadoorie Youth Development Centre

The Sir Horace Kadoorie Hospitality and Mentoring Programme (SHKHMP) was launched in 2015 through the support of the Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie and Lady Kadoorie. With many young people in rural areas of China facing poverty, disadvantage and social isolation, Paul Tchen, Honorary Chair of the Shanghai K Charitable Foundation, says the aim of the programme is simple: “to empower disadvantaged youth with the confidence and skills to enter the workforce. To lay the foundations of a career that will make them self-sustaining and eradicate personal poverty from their future”. It is the Kadoorie family’s way of giving back to Shanghai, their former city of residence.

Youths undertake a transformative and holistic programme covering vocational hospitality training, mentorship, English language, communication and life skills through an 18-month residency at the centre, followed by six months working in a leading hotel or restaurant, which sets them up for a new beginning.

In its initial four years, the programme was delivered from a space that lacked the commercial kitchen necessary for the vocational training. This required the group to travel for several hours each day to a remote site. The original location also did not have dining facilities, so a third-party ‘workers canteen’ was subcontracted to provide meals.

Through a collaboration between the Foundation, and expert partners – Steelcase and PolyVision, who donated industry-leading products; and prestigious Shanghai design firm iDA Workplace, who contributed pro-bono services – in 2019 the programme moved to an expanded training and living facility, custom-designed to holistically stimulate learning and social skills.

What Was the Design Brief?

“We wanted to design a space that works harmoniously for both learning and living, including flexible multi-purpose spaces that can be further divided or combined together, which provide a personal sanctuary and where the youths can interact with each other.”

Simon Wu
iDA Principal Architect

Shelley Peng, Executive Director and Principal of the programme, says the young participants face many challenges in adapting to life in the programme – including learning to share living and working space with others from different parts of China, adapting to new rules and disciplines, cultivating good study habits, and adopting new life skills away from their families – and it was important that the centre’s design facilitated these transitions.

“The casual environment also makes it more friendly and less intimidating, which in turn reduces the ‘formality’ of a traditional learning facility and enables or staff to better connect with youths.”

Paul Tchen
Honorary Chair of the Shanghai K Charitable Foundation

How Has This Vision Been Brought to Life?

The new centre has two floors, with the entire lower floor housing a purpose-built culinary vocational training centre, with a new main kitchen and dining hall which will provide meals for the 144 residents, and easily configurable classrooms.

“The centre’s overall design provides great flexibility for multiple use through wall partitions and fully mobile equipment. This means that every space in the centre, other than the kitchens, can be used for any purpose required,” says Tchen.

Furniture provided by Steelcase, including state-of-the-art classroom furniture and a diverse collection of casual lounges and café settings, is highly mobile, to provide mentors and youths with flexibility and control over how the space is used and adapted – whether it is to accommodate small study groups, large project groups or just one-on-one chats.

Breakout and collaboration spaces are scattered throughout the facility to encourage impromptu connections, and a bright and vivid colour scheme, combined with ample natural light, creates a warm and welcoming ambience.

Classrooms and shared spaces have been equipped with PolyVision CeramicSteel magnetic whiteboards. These full-height and ‘collaged’ writing canvases can be used either to display documents or write notes during class or around the centre, encouraging students with a sense of ownership over their own learning.

Matthew Clarke, Sales Manager, PolyVision, says, “the whiteboards allow people to record ideas, transfer knowledge and create visual, side-by-side comparisons. This helps people reach a shared understanding faster and more effectively.”

The upper floor serves as the living space for the youths, staff and mentors. It includes dormitories, a wellbeing centre with a gym and studio room for daily exercise classes, and communal social spaces. An open staircase connecting the lower and upper floors was transformed into a fun social lounge and fitted with a projector, to use the space as a theatre.

For the dormitories, Wu was inspired by the concept of capsule hotels, and created a design that would provide a semi-private space of their own for each of the youths. The ‘bedrooms’ allow sufficient standing height and ample storage for clothes and shoes, to encourage discipline in keeping belongings well-organised.

“We want the youths to feel that they are being respected by creating the ‘capsule’ dormitory that provides the personal space and sense of belonging that they might have never had before,” says Wu.

The Student Experience

The first two intakes of the programme, housed in the original centre, were highly successful – with graduates such as Nick Shang, who has fulfilled his childhood dream of becoming a chef and is now working at the Grand Hyatt, Shanghai, and Karry Chen, who credits the Kadoorie programme with giving her much greater confidence and the ability to converse in English. Karry enjoyed her time so much that once she has built her experience and knowledge, she hopes to return to the programme as a mentor.

But both say they had to overcome challenges in transitioning to studying in Shanghai – different food, weather, living in an urban environment, and a very different pace of life to their home towns.

According to Paul Tchen, the first group to study in the new centre has already found it easier to adapt and bond faster.

“The engaging environment of this new centre has been instrumental in putting our young participants at ease. This highly desirable living and study environment reduces their chances of dropping out, and ensures that their focus is on learning and enjoying being the young people that they are,” he says. “For the mentors, this new centre has enabled them to fully focus on a more personalised learning experience for the youths.”

“We worked hand in hand to embed the concept of 21st century active learning into the design and architecture of the space. It allows students to make the best of their skills without any obstacles or barriers.”

Ambroise D’Hauteville
Education Director, Steelcase Asia Pacific

Collaboration and Creating a Legacy

Ambroise D’Hauteville, Education Director, Steelcase Asia Pacific says the project provided a meaningful opportunity for us to not only establish a long-term partnership with the SHKHMP, and support this inspiring cause, but it also was a chance to collaborate and share Steelcase’s DNA in education with partners similarly committed to creating impact, such as iDA Workplace.

And the legacy of this work is much greater than simply creating an attractive learning environment, says Tchen.

“Our hope is that we have assisted to change the course of the youths’ lives into a positive one by removing them from poverty, making them self-sustaining, giving them control of their lives, instilling values to always care for their community and providing them a chance to live a happy and dignified life.”