• PolyVision的Motif白板墙板系统用于将办公区的墙面转化为促进团队合作的空间
  • 三位Made Design团队成员在横跨整面墙壁的Motif面板系统前工作
  • 不同尺寸的Motif标记板打造出书写表面,让各个团队能围绕不同的构思进行工作
  • Motif墙板系统的磁性表面,让大家在共同协作、整理构思时展示样本
  • 特写视图,展示大家在集思广益,Motif面板系统上贴着纸张和面料样品
  • 一组白色Motif墙板排成书写表面,两位团队成员正在上面书写

如果您从事的是将想法变为现实的工作,那么,无法激发灵感的办公空间并不是成功的第一步。 位于比利时安特卫普的设计和创新工作室Made在办公室的各个公共区域安装了Motif面板,将协作方式提升到新的水平。他们不仅能够更好地开展协作,而且在协作的时候精神面貌也有所提振。Made有一面很宽的墙,他们想把它变成团队合作并分享思路的中心。挑战在于要找到足够大的书写表面,既能覆盖这个空间,又不会缺乏视觉吸引力,或者仅仅是多了一块乏味的白色墙板。Made团队发现Motif“漂浮在墙面,有着奇妙的阴影效果和轻盈感,而面板之间的间距又不会使其显得单调,从而增进了使用者的兴趣。” 它是形态与功能的完美平衡。

三位Made Design团队成员在横跨整面墙壁的Motif面板系统前工作

无数种装配方式

Made面临的最大挑战之一是确定面板安装的最佳配置。可能性无穷无尽,但需要考虑几个因素,包括尺寸、用途和高度。如果每块面板安装得过低,会导致无法使用,安装得过高也会出现同样的问题。抽象图案和不对称安装也是可考虑选择的卓越设计方案。Made团队根据每天使用Motif开展的工作,确定了面板尺寸、颜色和图案的组合。

不同尺寸的Motif标记板打造出书写表面,让各个团队能围绕不同的构思进行工作

安装简便

PolyVision请Made团队分享一下他们安装Motif的体验,得到的简短回复是:“轻而易举!我们不到一个小时就装完了整面墙壁。” Motif的设计着眼于使用方便性。先将提供的安装模板布置在墙上,保证安装定位万无一失。而且由于面板系统重量很轻,不需要专用设备将其吊到墙面上。专用垫片确保每块面板之间间隙均匀,3M互锁安装硬件则可确保安装到位,也可在需要重新定位或更换时方便地进行拆卸。

团队导向

Made团队曾经依赖于粘性便笺和草稿纸交流想法、记录灵感,现在可以更加舒适、有效地开展更大规模的协作。这家以设计为中心的机构将Motif所在的空间叫做“站立区”。它成了一个重点区域,用于记录临时性的草图,举办团队会议,记录想法供稍后讨论等等。不同的面板通常用于不同的目的。单独的小面板可用作记录会议议程、长期项目备忘录的空间,其中一块记录了各个团队成员的俯卧撑累计次数。有时候,Motif甚至用来在开放协作空间公告有争议的想法或视觉效果造成轰动效应。创意主管们常常忽视团队的日常活动,但是当他们看到在公共区贴出的新想法时,会忍不住要看个究竟。当设计师们需要其他人的反应时,Motif区就成了“游击式反馈收集”的工具,用于鼓励来自不同观点的响应。

Motif墙板系统的磁性表面,让大家在共同协作、整理构思时展示样本

内容组织

这些内容板块通过一种富有吸引力的方式区分和组织各种主题。Made团队在进行策略性会议时最喜欢使用较大的面板来制定时间表和线框。这些更深入的工作流程任务最适合使用大型和超大型的面板,这些面板有足够的扩展空间,还可以延伸创意。  提到以前使用的白板,团队负责人Teun Habraken感叹说:“我们以前开会的时候,必须在开始写字之前擦干净整块白板。即使板上只有25-50%的地方写了内容。感觉就好像,你必须从一张白纸开始进行任何构思或者澄清思路。但Motif不是这样。对于一块板是否属于整体的一部分,这种体验或者感知在不断变化,绝不是一成不变的。它为我们提供了很多灵活性和自由度。”

两位员工在比利时安特卫普的Made Design办公室的Motif白板面板系统前一起工作

图案 + 色彩

Motif的双重性在于,它可以在您需要的时候作为高性能的协作书写表面,而在不用时,又是一件艺术作品。小块面板上标准的设计师风格的图案鼓励创造性的思维,而较大的面板则是有意选择的中性面板,以实现最大的多功能性。Made选择了半透明印刷的图案面板,在需要时可用作功能性透视网格,不用时也不会引人注目。

特写视图,展示大家在集思广益,Motif面板系统上贴着纸张和面料样品

打造协作性的Motif

Motif是一种协作工具,旨在激发创造力并将团队聚集在一起,进行更有效的沟通和创意。当需要一种能增强团队之间合作意愿的创意工具时,Made也不例外。Teun表示:“我们有更多同事正在积极参与。出现了更多的合作和有组织的创意会议。以前都是口头上说一说想法,然后往往被大家遗忘,现在这些想法会写在板上,或者进一步发展出更多的内容。对于一家专业从事将想法转化为具体有形的设计或产品的创意公司而言,这是一个至关重要、改变游戏规则的方面。我们最关注的是交付创新,而Motif在我们工作的交付过程中贡献巨大。”

一组白色Motif墙板排成书写表面,两位团队成员正在上面书写

• Motif whiteboard wall panel system from PolyVision is used to transform a wall in an office area into a space that allows for more teamwork
  • Three team members at Made Design work together at a Motif wall panel system configured to span across the width of a wall
  • Motif markerboard wall panels in varying sizes are used to create a writing surface that allows teams to work on different ideas
  • The magnetic surface of a Motif wall panel system allows people to display swatches as they collaborate to organize ideas
  • A close-up view of pieces of paper and swatches of fabric displayed on a Motif wall panel system while people work together to brainstorm ideas
  • A group of white Motif wall panels are arranged to create a writing surface where two team members are writing down notes

When you’re in the business of turning ideas into reality, working in an uninspiring office space isn’t the first step to success. Made, a design and innovation studio based in Antwerp, Belgium, has upped their collaborative session game with installations of Motif in common areas around the office. Not only are they working better together, but they look great doing it. Made had an expansive wall they wanted to convert into a hub for teamwork and idea-sharing. The challenge was to find a writing surface large enough to cover the space without compromising visual interest or adding another boring, white plane. The Made team found that Motif “floats away from the wall, providing an intriguing shadow play and lightness while the spacing between panels breaks up the monotony and adds interest.” It was the ideal balance between form and function.

Three team members at Made Design work together at a Motif wall panel system configured to span across the width of a wall

Countless Configurations

One of the greatest challenges for Made was determining the best configuration for their panel installations. The possibilities are endless, but there were several factors to consider including size, usage and height. If separate panels were installed too low, they would be unusable, and equally if they were installed too high. Abstract patterns and asymmetrical installations were also options to consider for a great design approach. The Made team settled on compositions that blended panel sizes, colors and patterns based on what they would be using Motif for on a daily basis.

Motif markerboard wall panels in varying sizes are used to create a writing surface that allows teams to work on different ideas

Simple Installation

PolyVision asked the Made team to share their experience installing Motif. The short response: “Installation was a breeze! We installed the full wall in less than an hour.” Mounting Motif was designed for ease. Installation templates are applied to the wall for foolproof mount positioning, and because the panel system is lightweight, it doesn’t require specialty equipment for lifting onto the wall. Specialty spacers ensure an even gap between each panel, and 3M interlocking mounting hardware secures the installation in place while allowing for removal if repositioning or replacement is desired.

Team Orientation

Once resorting to sticky notes and scrap paper for brainstorming and spur-of-the-moment ideation, the Made team can now collaborate more comfortably and effectively on a greater scale. The design-focused organization has named the Motif space their “stand-up area.” It is the focal point of drive-by sketching, team meetings and a place to leave thoughts to get back to later. Different panels are often dedicated to different purposes. Separate smaller panels serve as spaces for meeting agendas, long-standing project notes, and one houses a friendly push up tally among team members. Sometimes, Motif is even used to create a stir by posting a controversial idea or visual out in the open collaborative space. It’s common for creative directors to lose sight of the everyday activities of their teams, but it becomes challenging to resist when they see new concepts popping up in the common areas. It becomes a form of guerrilla feedback-gathering by the designers when they need a reaction from others to instigate a response from different points of view.

The magnetic surface of a Motif wall panel system allows people to display swatches as they collaborate to organize ideas

Content Organization

These blocks of content keep subjects separated and organized in an attractive format. The larger panels are a favorite among the Made team for strategic meetings to develop timelines and wireframes. These deeper workflow tasks are reserved for the large and extra-large panels where there is room to spread out and expand on ideas. Team leader Teun Habraken, lamenting over past meeting spaces with traditional whiteboards, said “In our older meeting spaces, you would erase the full board before starting to write on it. Even if only 25-50% of the board was written on. It feels like you have to begin with a clean sheet before any ideation or clarification is possible. Not with Motif. The experience or perception of whether a board is part of a whole is continuously in flux and definitely not fixed. It has provided us with a lot of flexibility and freedom.”

Two people work together at a Motif whiteboard panel system in the Made Design offices in Antwerp, Belgium

Pattern + Color

The duality of Motif is that it can function as a high-performance collaborative writing surface when you need it, and a work of art when not in use. Standard, designer-inspired patterns on the small panels encourage creative thought; larger panels are available as intentionally selected neutrals for maximum versatility. Made selected patterned panels printed at a low opacity to allow for use as a functional perspective grid when needed without becoming a distraction when not in use.

A close-up view of pieces of paper and swatches of fabric displayed on a Motif wall panel system while people work together to brainstorm ideas

Create a Collaborative Motif

Motif is a Collaborative Worktool designed to spark creativity and bring teams together to communicate and create more effectively. Made was no exception when it came to the need for a creative tool that made their teams want to collaborate. Teun said “More of our coworkers are actively engaging. There are more alignments and structured creative meetings. Instead of verbal ideas being thrown out and forgotten, they are being written down or drawn out to become something more. As a creative company with the responsibility of turning ideas into concrete and tangible designs or products, that is a crucial game-changer. We’re about innovation delivery, and Motif has helped tremendously with the delivery part of our work.”

A group of white Motif wall panels are arranged to create a writing surface where two team members are writing down notes